Case study: designing your UI for feature discovery with user research data

Hey all - created a new thread for this, from our discussion on remote UT sample sizes.

I recently published an article about some UI optimisation work that I did with remote user research tools. Check it out here: https://io.usabilityhub.com/improving-navigation-elements-a-ui-optimization-case-study-with-user-research-data-e08648fd1011

Would love to hear if you have done similar research or if you have feedback about the article - I’m new to the writing game so all feedback is welcome! Thanks!

Sample sizes for remote user testing

This is a great write up and a really nice example of UI optimization. Most folks would just save this for A/B testing but I think you are able to capture much more nuance in rolling this out in the way that you have.

Nice work Hugo!

And re: UsabilityHub, how are the rest of the tools that it offers? Would love to hear more about your experiences with it.

Thanks Ryan! That was the goal - to show that A/B testing isn’t the only way to get data on this kind of design challenge.

Re UsabilityHub, I’ve been a customer on and off for years, and they’re a client of mine at present, so I’m very biased :slight_smile: I think I’d be a big fan regardless though. Being able to generate data quickly and at low cost is valuable for me as a practitioner.

I’ve used it mostly for UI optimisation and IA/label testing with click tests, surveying with design concepts, and iterating on comms/messaging using 5 second tests. All useful in the enterprise world because you can take the risk out of design decisions super quickly, less than an hour in most cases. Good for startups too because you can run basic test sets with decent n values for ~$100 or less.